

May 11, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Minority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Leader McCarthy, Leader McConnell, and Leader Schumer:

We write as the undersigned elected leaders in Maryland's 6th Congressional District to urge you to provide desperately needed funding for local governments, regardless of population size, in the next emergency coronavirus package.

Our local governments have faced enormous costs while responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, including rapid activation and expansion of emergency services, transitioning to telework to ensure continuity of municipal services, providing overtime and hazard compensation for first responders, furnishing personal protective equipment, and more. Without stabilization funding, these expenses will prevent local governments from continuing to offer essential services for residents.

In addition to incurring the significant expenses required to combat COVID-19, municipalities and counties are experiencing a precipitous decline in revenue. Stay-at-home orders and social distancing have led to decreases in property taxes, local income taxes, parking fees, hotel occupancy fees, and other revenue sources. State governments are not in a position to help, as many are facing worse revenue shortfalls and increased expenses. In Maryland alone, Governor Hogan is anticipating at least a \$2.8 billion shortfall due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Only the

federal government has the capacity to provide the direct and equitable relief that the state and local governments need to continue to operate.

Attached for your consideration are some individual testimonies from local leaders from Maryland's 6th Congressional District, detailing the unique burdens that managing a responsible COVID-19 response has placed on their budgets. We thank you for your attention to this important request.

Sincerely,

David Trone

Member of Congress

Allegany County Elected Officials

Jake Shade

President, Board of Commissioners

Allegany County

Laurie Marchini

Councilmember

City of Cumberland

Eugene Frazier

Councilmember

City of Cumberland

Mike McKay

Maryland State Delegate

District 1C

Frederick County Elected Officials

Jan H. Gardner

County Executive

Frederick County

Raymond Morriss

Mayor

City of Cumberland

Richard Cioni

Councilmember

City of Cumberland

George Edwards

Maryland State Senator

District 1

M.C. Keegan-Ayer

President, County Council

Frederick County

Kai Hagen

Councilmember, At-Large

Frederick County

Kelly Russell

Alderman, President Pro Tempore

City of Frederick

Derek Shackelford

Alderman

City of Frederick

Ronald Young

Maryland State Senator

District 3

Kenneth Kerr

Maryland State Delegate

District 3B

Garrett County Elected Officials

Paul C. Edwards

Chairman, Board of Commissioners

Garrett County

Richard Carlson

Mayor

Town of Accident

Spencer Schlosnagle

Mayor

Town of Friendsville

Robert Reckart

Mayor

Town of Kitzmiller

Michael O'Connor

Mayor

City of Frederick

Ben MacShane

Alderman

City of Frederick

Roger Wilson

Alderman

City of Frederick

Karen Lewis Young

Maryland State Delegate

District 3A

Peggy Jamison

Mayor

Town of Oakland

Donald Dawson

Mayor

Town of Deer Park

Mark Diehl

Mayor

Town of Grantsville

Carolyn Corley

Mayor

Town of Loch Lynn Heights

Wendell Beitzel Maryland State Delegate District 1A

Montgomery County Elected Officials

Marc Elrich Sidney Katz

County Executive President, County Council, District 3

Montgomery County Montgomery County

Tom Hucker Andrew Friedson

Vice President, County Council, District 5 Councilmember, District 1

Montgomery County Montgomery County

Evan Glass Gabe Albornoz

Councilmember, At-Large Councilmember, At-Large

Montgomery County Chair, Health and Human Services Cmte.

Montgomery County

Will Jawando Jud Ashman Councilmember, At-Large Mayor

Montgomery County City of Gaithersburg

Neil HarrisRyan SpiegelCouncilmemberCouncilmemberCity of GaithersburgCity of Gaithersburg

Laurie-Anne SaylesMichael A. SesmaCouncilmemberCouncilmemberCity of GaithersburgCity of Gaithersburg

Robert T. Wu Craig Zucker

Councilmember Maryland State Senator

City of Gaithersburg District 14

Cheryl Kagan Nancy King

Maryland State Senator Maryland State Senator

District 17 District 39

Brian Feldman

Maryland State Senator

District 15

Kathleen Dumais

Maryland State Delegate

District 15

Julie Palakovich Carr

Maryland State Delegate

District 17

Kirill Reznik

Maryland State Delegate

District 39

Gabriel Acevero

Maryland State Delegate

District 39

Washington County Elected Officials

Jeff Cline

President, Board of Commissioners

Washington County

Robert E. Bruchey, II

Mayor

City of Hagerstown

Austin Heffernan Councilmember City of Hagerstown

Ralph Salvagno, M.D.

Mayor

Town of Hancock

Pamela Queen

Maryland State Delegate

District 14

Lily Qi

Maryland State Delegate

District 15

Vaughn Stewart

Maryland State Delegate

District 19

Lesley Lopez

Maryland State Delegate

District 39

Charlotte Crutchfield

Maryland State Delegate

District 19

Cort Meinelschmidt

Commissioner, Board of Commissioners

Washington County

Emily Keller

Councilmember

City of Hagerstown

Shelley McIntire

Councilmember

City of Hagerstown

William Green

Mayor

Town of Williamsport